What Comes Next

It was an honour to be part of this year’s BMO 1st Art! jury alongside my peers Marie-Eve Beaupré (Curator, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal), Sarah Robayo Sheridan, (Curator, Art Museum at the University of Toronto) and Adriana Kuiper (Artist and Associate Professor, Mount Allison University). This collection of prizes celebrates the work of students who have recently completed undergraduate-level art and design programs across Canada. Nominated by their professors, these are artists who push at how art is going to be understood in the future, and how we, as viewers, will understand what it can do to us.

This year’s winners were recently announced. Check them out here.

Looking through their works again, I can’t help but feel so hopeful for how they will contribute to transformations of art making and theoretical discourses, in Canada and beyond, as their practices continue to develop. Congratulations Luther Konadu, Preston Pavlis, Cheyenne Rain LeGrande, Marie-France Hollier, Clara Patterson, Emily Hayes, Séamus Gallagher, Kaleigh Rose Tagak, Christopher Dela Cruz, Hanna Matheson, Charline Dally, Jimuel Belarmino and Robyn McLeod!

You will have an opportunity to see their works as part of an exhibition at MOCA Toronto this fall, 21 November – 16 December 2019. Come and feel an indication of what comes next…



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s