Uncategorized

This week, The New Yorker blog is featuring excerpts from Miranda July’s novel It Chooses You. Today, July mused thusly, and I can’t help but wonder too all the things I could do without the Internet:

I was writing a screenplay in the little house. I wrote it at the kitchen table, or in my old bed with its thrift-store sheets. Or, as anyone who has tried to write anything recently knows, these are the places where I set the stage for writing but instead looked things up online. Some of this could be justified because one of the characters in my screenplay was also trying to make something, a dance, but instead of dancing she looked up dances on YouTube. So, in a way, this procrastination was research. As if I didn’t already know how it felt: like watching myself drift out to sea, too captivated by the waves to call for help.

Standard

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

